US Weekly Top 10 Grossing Film Charts of the 1990s

US Weekly Top 10 Grossing Film Charts of the 1990s

(115 pages) | E-book (PDF format)

View Sample Page

The eighth volume of the popular series contains the top grossing movies in America during the Nineties from January 1990 to December 1999. The complete US Top Ten Box Office Charts with the biggest grossing films of the 1990s week-by-week.

From monster hits like “Independence Day” and “Titanic” to classic films like “Pulp Fiction” and “L.A. Confidential”, here’s the complete picture of the most successful films in the USA.

Download the book here:

The Mummy Films 1932 – 2017

There are many film versions of the Mummy, but prior to 1999 only the original film with Boris Karloff made an impact at the US Box Office.

Released in 1932, “The Mummy” (directed by Karl Freund) was a modest box office hit, peaking at No.8 on the weekly US Box Office chart in January 1933 and it grossed $370,000 in rentals (adjustment gross: nearly $24,000,000 in 2016 US Dollars).

It was the Number 131 film of the year on the annual grosses in 1932. Boris Karloff had a much bigger B.O. hit, a year earlier with “Frankenstein” which was Number One for two weeks in December 1931.

The next 9 “Mummy” movies flopped badly at the Box Office. A series of four films that featured a mummy named Kharis, started in early forties, starring Tom Tyler in the first film but Lon Chaney, Jr. took over the role for the following three sequels.

Then, came the 1955 horror comedy “Abbott and Costello Meet the Mummy” which was one of the last films for the famous comedy duo, and unlike their first movies in the 1940s, this one bombed.

The most memorable of the next four pictures was the 1959 version of the “Mummy” starring the great Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing. It was a British production, and once again it failed to make an impression at the Box Office.

In 1999, the 11th film release of “The Mummy” directed by¬†Stephen Sommers and starring Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz became the biggest B.O. success so far with a US gross of $155 million, and it spent two weeks at Number one in May 1999.

The 2001 sequel “The Mummy Returns” grossed even better ($202 million) and also spent 2 weeks at the top of the B.O. charts.

The third film with Brendan Fraser “The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor”, wasn’t received well, peaking at No.2 in August 2008 with a total US gross of $102 million. Also starring in this film, the popular Jet Li, Maria Bello and Michelle Yeoh.

Finally, the 2017 remake with Tom Cruise and Algerian actress Sofia Boutella, flopped in America. The movie cost an amazing $125 million and made a poor $31 million, the first weekend (it debuted at No.2, behind “Wonder Woman”), not to mention the bad reviews that it received from most of the critics.

Here are the 14 “Mummy” films in chronological order:

1 The Mummy 1932 Boris Karloff
2 The Mummy’s Hand 1940 Tom Tyler
3 The Mummy’s Tomb 1942 Lon Chaney, Jr.
4 The Mummy’s Ghost 1944 Lon Chaney, Jr.
5 The Mummy’s Curse 1944 Lon Chaney, Jr.
6 Abbott And Costello Meet The Mummy 1955 Bud Abbott & Lou Costello
7 The Mummy 1959 Christopher Lee, Peter Cushing
8 The Curse of the Mummy’s Tomb 1964 Terence Morgan
9 The Mummy’s Shroud 1967 Andr√© Morell, David Buck
10 Blood from the Mummy’s Tomb 1971 Andrew Keir, Valerie Leon
11 The Mummy 1999 Brendan Fraser, Rachel Weisz
12 The Mummy Returns 2001 Brendan Fraser, Rachel Weisz
13 The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor 2008 Brendan Fraser
14 The Mummy 2017 Tom Cruise, Sofia Boutella